weewilkie

By weewilkie

now westlin winds (2)

This is the wind sock at the helipad on the clyde. A strong western wind has been keeping things a little cooler on a , nevertheless, sunny day. I can quite happily stand and watch the wind sock dance and ripple in the wind for my entertainment.

I did a series of lessons recently about the senses and had some interesting discussions when we were outside listening for what we could hear. A lot of the children said the wind, and of course we don't hear the wind we hear whatever it is the wind is moving through: trees, bushes, a small opening in the window. We likewise can't see the wind, only signs of it moving in or moving objects. We feel it right enough.

Like this seemingly invisible force of moving air, so we have the force of our emotions that are only visible by their effects on our behaviour. Often unwittingly we exhibit the mood blowing through us by behaving in a certain way, good and bad. We can be strung out like the wind sock, look like Atlas carrying the world on our slumped shoulders, dance happy or even quiet and withdrawn. All signs of the emotional weather.

And emotional weather is all it is. Too often I've taken my emotions and consequential behaviour to be 'who I am': these are things I do and they're not always pleasant(for me or others around). I write this narrative of myself in my head where the actions of my behaviour becomes who I am. Action Man: me.
This isn't the case anymore. I can now see my emotions as just weather. Often strong, but fleeting things that will pass and I don't need to connect with. I can watch and observe their rising and weakening much in the way I stand and watch this wind sock. They are just emotional weather brought on by highs and lows of pressure and the spin of the planet.

My life is so much better for understanding that I'm not Action Man, I'm really just a Weather Man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.