As my mood grabs me...

By AlisonM

Fly-Past

I took myself off to Gloucester today - a bit of a bumble round the various antiques places though not all of them. A few items purchased, stuff I hoped to purchase not bought as my feet are too flipping wide and the sandals I wanted didn't fit - hey ho.....

Anyway, it was Armed Forces Day - another reason I went over there and I had a wander to the Cathedral to watch them have their ceremony there and they all marched off to the docks where there was all sorts of related goings-on.

Happily I overheard what time the fly-past was due so hung around the docks for 2o minutes (which in this lovely sunshine was no hardship at all) and shortly after 1.30pm heard the familiar sound of the Spitfire and Hurricane (I assume - I'm not a plane expert). They did three swoops of the docs and then wandered off to their next appointment - maybe Weston as the Air Day is on today and tomorrow.

Ok it's a rubbish shot but I don't care - it's what today was all about and I've decided that I'm definitely doing RIAT this year - even if it means getting on the coach at 7am and not leaving the airfield until 6.30pm :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.