Combi31

By Combi31

European Bee Eater

You know when a plan comes together .... That!

This one may be worth a glane at in large

I was on a mission to get some shots of bee eaters today - I sort of knew where they were, but no signs were to seen nor heard of this usually noisy bird - the noise almost resembles bickering chimps, if you can picture that.

Today I was in The Ariège département, in the foothills of The Pyrénées - love it here.

So I parked up ready for a walk to where I thought they would be, but first I just sat down, watched and listened - nothing ...

Then I went elsewhere to try out some video using my DSLR for the first time ... I'll stick it all together and post a link when it's done.

It was a stonkingly hot day today, 39°c again, so hard going for us blippers, even though I love the heat - anyway, to cut a long story short, I decided to cut through a field, even though I couldn't see nor hear the bee eaters, then I saw a kind of small clay cliff.

Then I heard and saw the bee eaters - ha, plan done.

I ended up taking over 600 photos, just to get a decent blip ... overkill? moi? Jamais!

One day, I'll get to posting some of the other shots on my blog or Tumblr or summat.

It's La Fête de La Musique this evening, but I feel completely exhausted - weird that, so I'll probably just have an apéritif and watch the footie.

The plancha is warming up as I type.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.