Life's tangled skein

By atp

War Memorial Service of Dedication

The Maddiston Community Council has arranged for a new War Memorial to be built in Maddiston to commemorate, acknowledge and pay thanks for the sacrifices that the people of the village have made in the two World Wars.

Today was the dedication service for the memorial.

I happened on it by accident - I was driving home from dropping my son off at archery - and wasn't quite sure what was happening. I stopped the car and when I saw what was happening, started taking some pictures.

The Salvation Army brass band was there, the trumpeter (left) played the Last Post. Four representatives of the Armed Forces carried flags (out of shot), and veterans stood solemnly and proudly through the dedication service. Residents of Madiston stood in solemn and respectful silence throughout.

A very moving ceremony indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.