Wonderlust

By wonderlust

So Wednesday I didn't get a blip in. Let me explain myself: I deliver flowers part-time. Half way though my first delivery run I got a spontaneous bloody nose. This can happen to pregnant women, I don't know why, but it can. It happened while driving on the highway. I had no where to pull over and I couldn't find any napkins or kleenex. Meanwhile I'm most worried about getting blood all over my winter jacket. Winter jackets are not cheap so it was a big deal. So my only thought is to try to cup my nose with one free hand so as not to get blood all over. Fingers do not make good cups. The cup created a damn with a leak that led down my sweater sleeve. I finally found a turn off, threw the car into park and desparately searched for anything to help. I managed to find a napkin afterall, but not until I had gotten everywhere: my face, my hair, my jacket, my sweater, my hands, my arm, and of course the car seat. I did the best I could to clean up with my one napkin once the bleeding stopped only to look into the mirror and think, "No way I can deliver flowers looking like I stepped off the set of the latest horror movie." I drove back to the shop where my boss took over deliveries to allow me to clean up and relax for the remainder of the day.

So there you have it, there's my excuse for missing a week day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.