RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Rising Prices

Though I go to our local mercado just about every other day, I decided long ago that one can only feature so many market photos. I mean, how many shots of stacked produce can one endure (I do admit, however, to a weakness for pepper photos), so I have tended to ignore the mounds of carrots, squash, onions, and other items that surround me on my typical route. The bright orange signs in this shop originally caught my attention (their job I guess), then I noticed the new prices, then I saw the orderly arrangements, then I pulled out my camera. While the prices have been raised for these fresh vegetables, they are still incredibly reasonable. In United States terms, 2.2 pounds of carrots for about 50¢, onions 60¢, and squash less than a $1, all the freshest one can find. I don't know what U.S. supermarkets are currently charging, but I remember spending a great deal more in the produce section when I shopped there in our former life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.