ONE OF THE FOURTY

geese that live at the King Oliver Island. There can be more or less, I did not count them, now or in the past.
It had been a while since I had visited them.
I like it very much to watch their way of life. It was bathing time when I came and then there is so much to see, and to take pictures of them.
On my way there I had seen the swan family, still with 8 youngsters, a happy sight.
The cuteness of baby time gone forever, they look a bit awkward, eating the duckweed, still protected by their parents.
In the afternoon Mischa came and we worked on her text.
We read some letters of my parents, dated in war-time and looked at old photos of the bookshop, when still in Leiden.
The day ends now warmer tahn it had begun.

My haiku:

The warm water makes
Them more versatile and loud
They tell it the world

And the proverb:

Een mens is geen aardappel: hij kan niet rollen waar hij wil.

Translation: A human is not a potata: he/she cannot roll where ever he/she likes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.