Boots

This is Boots, a bobble head dog decorated by Bob at his day camp this past summer.

Since arriving home from Florida, I developed a cold, recovered, then over-exerted at the gym and paid for it with bad arthritis and neuropathy pain for 2 days, and now I am in the throes of another cold. These events plus a busy week at work put me behind in my administrative tasks. I woke up this morning feeling quite sorry for myself, but with James and Bob gone for the day, I had a quiet opportunity to get some work done.

And I was quite efficient today, despite my body's attempts to distract me. Boots was my very quiet and trusty companion. Faye occasionally left her warm bed to join me next to Boots. But as soon as I stopped petting her so that I could get back to work, she quickly forsook me. My new desk chair is quite comfortable and makes me realize that I had put up with that old chair far to long.

I managed to rustle up a tasty dinner (although I couldn't really taste it). And my voice held up through 4 bedtime stories. Now I hope and pray that my cold gets better and my voice doesn't disappear, as I am leaving for a veterinary conference Sunday morning. I am supposed to staff a booth in the exhibit hall. But given my nose's prodigious production of mucous, I imagine that I may be more of a deterrent than an asset.

**
On a different note, I have been enjoying reading books on my Blackberry lately. When my hands hurt, it can be difficult to hold up a book and turn the pages. So I tried Barnes and Noble's application for the Blackberry to read their eBooks. And it is so cool. I can easily hold up the phone and I just have to press the trackball with my thumb to "turn" each page. I have enjoyed reading some classics and old favorites. But I just finished the The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and it was wonderful. In fact, I think I may start to read it over again tonight, as the gift of hindsight will only make it better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.