Munklebob

By Munklebob

More Demolishing

This is mostly what's left of the Yorkshire Post building in Leeds. They've smashed it to bits. I feel a little torn emotionally about this bit of demolition. One the one hand it's an ugly, nasty building and always has been so "smash away" my brain says. It's been there since I was a kid and you could always look up and see the time, and temperature as you came into to Leeds on the bus, so part of my heart says "this is sad, another thing from my childhood lost, another building that was part of people's lives and livelihoods". My brain says "you're an idiot, you can tell what time it is using a watch or your mobile phone, which can also tell you what the temperature is along with about a million other things you may want to know. It's progress. Plus it makes for great photography."
"Oh, I suppose" says the part of my heart "but doesn't it make you just a little bit melancholy?"
The rest of my heart says "Nah! It's great when they smash things up, it makes for great photography"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.