Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Accidentals

I survived the sleepover! Being the longest day yesterday the boys played cricket outside until very late and then watched a movie and finally went to sleep at about midnight. (well, I think they did...)

The summer solstice always makes me feel a little sad, as now it will be getting that tiny bit darker earlier every day and we have not even had our summer holidays yet. When I lived in the southern hemisphere the summer solstice took place in the middle of the summer holidays, yet here it does not seem to work like that. By the time summer is ending at the beginning of September the days have already noticeably shortened.

Today I went to take photographs of my friends jazz band, The Accidentals. They have an annual concert and garden party every summer at her home. The band is excellent - I was so impressed at how professional they sounded and they played many popular songs like Tequila and Sway. This year they had a (very handsome) male singer who had an amazing voice. Afterwards we all had tea and cake and it was a really pleasant way to spend a Sunday afternoon. This is some of the members of the band, playing in the sunshine surrounded by the pretty flowers in her garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.