Delamanda

By Delamanda

I should coco

“Coco”: ‘In I should coco, used as an affirmative: I should say so. Also in ironic use as an expression of disbelief, derision, etc.: I should think not.’ (OED). One of my favourite expressions, but always as a form of derision, I had no idea that the expression could be used in a non-ironic way, so I give you a non derisive usage: Q: ‘Would you buy these boots?’ A: ‘I should coco – or rather, I should coco Chanel’. And in keeping with widespread usage: Q: ‘England are good at football nec’est pas?’ A: ‘I should coco.’ Please note the French flag in the window, we are now supporting France as that is the Pendie team in the Snapper Music World Cup. I can’t remember who Pendragon are up against in the next round, but I’m sure Wilcey can provide the answer!
Day #172 of a 365 project, where the daily pic is informed by the OED word of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.