Corvid Fiesta

By CorvidFiesta

Six-spot Burnet Moth

Sunday, the Moray Mix event was at Lossie forest, just east of Lossiemouth. This is classic dune terrain, difficult in the open and easier in the trees. I had a great run by my standards, and hit all but 2 controls spot on. In the open dunes, I passed through an area where there were hundreds of orchids flowering. They were mostly purple, but also lesser numbers of white and pink. I thought I knew where they were, and went back to take some photographs. However, I only saw the one so was in the wrong place. However, I did see large numbers of the Six-spot Burnet moth in the dunes feeding on Bell heather, the one orchid and this yellow flower. We regularly see them in the east of Scotland, but never in such abundance. This is my 300th blip, only 65 to go for the full year. It's quite addictive, and I like to think this shot is suitable for such a milestone.

Also today occasional blipper Butteridge completed the West Highland Way race from Milngavie to Fort William. What a fabulous achievement.

Backblip of Findhorn and
Cranesbill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.