horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Good Morning Reynard

I've not put a blip on this early in a while, but I don't think I'll get a better shot today, and if anything monumentally earth-shattering happens today I'll update you tomorrow (cue Arthur's Seat re-igniting or something).

The foxes down at the den have been conspicuous by their absence of later (combination of them not being around so much, as well as the undergrowth now being out of control and making it much easier for them to hide). But, they have been coming to the garden a bit more frequently, I assume they're simply out hunting more to feed more small mouths.

In the half-light last night there was one seeking out spilled scraps from our barbecue, completely oblivious to Isla stalking up on him. A pounce-induced yelp and then a little stand-off, before the fox, as nonchalantly as it could manage, slunk out the back of the garden, and Isla came rtotting back to the house for plaudits.

This morning the fox was disturbing the magpies who were eating some eggs we'd put out (Skye, getting old, is producing some really thin-shelled, watery-white eggs now that aren't much use for anything), with me watching (and photographing) through the window from just ten yards away. I delayed letting Isla out - she seems to have the upper hand at the moment, but I'm not tempting fate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.