Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Hummer visits the cat mint...

Dear Diary,

Our stretch of beautiful weather continues and the garden has be really buzzing and, well, humming! This little fellow was quite obsessed with the cat mint blossoms. His ruby throat a beautiful spot of red in the glorious colors of the border; his tiny eye, illuminated by the sunlight, seemed to look right at me.

I was so amazed when I looked at this image. Even when I enlarged it I couldn't see any evidence of his wings! Beating at nearly 7o beats per second they were virtually invisible. He looks suspended in the air by some translucent thread. What amazing little creatures hummers are.

Whatever we look at today, may we see it with fresh eyes.
-John O'Donohue

Embracing whatever comes my way...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.