Jennynlper

By Jennynlper

MonoMonday: Still life

This is a dainty bossed metal bowl just under 100 mm in diameter which Arteedeegee gave to me on my birthday, the day I started my blip journal.

I was excited by the prospect of using the bowl as the focal point to an assembled still life; luckily, there was intense morning sunshine on my windowcill. I ended up with ten images, featuring the bowl, a stripy succulent and, in some, two beach pebbles from the north Somerset coast. They all delighted me, but this is my choice today.

I discovered by accident that the bowl has a lovely property which I can't convey here: it sings a 'B' with some harmonics when tapped. Some time ago I did look into buying a Tibetan singing bowl, until I discovered how incredibly valuable they are. I wanted one for our NLP practice meetings to invite folk to reconvene, as it is less intrusive than using voice. This little bowl will do the job perfectly. I am now curious to know what the metal alloy is from which it is made.

Thanks Rainie for this interesting challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.