Poppy Day

It's taken me a while but I think I'm sorted now on the kit I want to use for most stuff from now on. I've been using a 50mm lens for some time now but the new Sigma 50mm F1.4 DG Art lens looked like something else and I'm loving it after just two days of use. My other go-to lens is the Nikkor 70-200mm, sometimes with a doubler. It makes for a heavy kit but the images seem worth it. This new lens lets in so much light it's fantastic and the option of such a narrow depth of field allows a nice blotchy effect with flowers such as poppies. It's also great for portraits although you can't get too close or you get the "big nose" effect - more close-up distortion than I'd expect (or maybe we just have big noses in our family!). The long lens enabled some nice water lily shots at Wisley this morning, lying flat to get on their level.

My only beef today was the 10 am opening time at Wisley. We were there at 9 am and an even earlier start would have been preferable for softer light. But Wisley doesn't seem to care about that. It's become much more commercial than it used to be and you see litter about the place that you never used to see. When we joined almost a lifetime ago there was the one cafe. Now there are three plus a barbecue tent plus the shops. It's "kerching" all the way. Here endeth today's rant.

Thank you for the response to the spider's web yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.