Skyroad

By Skyroad

Squared Away

I finally took this shot from my hotel room window, something I’d been thinking of doing since I got here. I've been happy with this room, which was the same I stayed in last year (number 39). It's what I like, small and square, with no side-passage to accommodate the bathroom etc., just another door. I have a slight but inconvenient phobia about corners. I heard of a small midwestern town in the US where they build round barns because 'the devil hides in corners.' I don't believe in devils (other than the human variety) but I have what you might call an overactive imagination, possibly the fallout from my childhood love of horror/ghost stories, Creepy & Eerie comics, etc. (then I discovered Ray Bradbury and Lovecraft when I was around 16). I wonder what the staff made of my request for a smaller room, though no doubt they've had odder ones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.