Not just letters home

By haylo53

Thousand Islands wilderness

It's been 4 years since I've been to my back "other" home in one of the prettiest places I've ever been to, the Thousand Islands. Smack bang in the middle of the St Lawrence River, the natural border between the US and Canada, more than 1800 islands stretch between Kingston to the west and Brockville to the east, or for the less geographically inclined, Toronto and Montreal.

This place has seen its fair share of stories, many more than that of Thousand Island salad dressing which takes its name from the region. For many it's a simple life of being close to nature (I will be showering under a tree next week) and for others an opportunity to enjoy a bit of luxury.

This week involves a house swap, and I'll be lucky enough to visit the western end of the islands near Gananoque. We're in a house on Lyndsay Island with no electricity or wifi, which will be appreciated despite the possible interesting-ness of needing to work through the holiday.

I absolutely cannot wait to get into the water...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.