From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Water off a duck's beak....

I made up for my extremely lazy weekend by walking into work this morning and walking back via the canal afterwards and yes, you've guessed it, I am now sat on the settee good for even less than usual. At least I feel better for it! I should have worked from home today but at least I get a bit of exercise if I go in.

It was another day when nothing seemed to work properly with problems on several servers all at once meant there was no intranet, no internet and lots of people at remote offices couldn't even get into Oracle. So what did I do for most of the day? Help desk calls. I went out at lunch time just to escape. I stupidly decided to be adventurous and use the self service points in Marks and Spencers and ended up being the silly cow with the big red face in the middle with all the alarms going off and a nasty machine yelling in a booming voice "THERE IS AN UNSCANNED ITEM IN THE BAGGING AREA!!" All I wanted was for the ground to open up and swallow me whole.

The last time I tried self scanning was when I was in London last year on my Sys Admin course and I showed myself up in Boots looking like a doddery old grannie then. It's so embarrassing! I really can't cope with this modern living. Come back grumpy shop assistants. I'm sick of having to try to serve myself. It's bloody ridiculous!

Anyway, I eventually made it back to the office with my bread rolls for the ducks and a cheese and tomato baguette for me. I sorted out a few people in my remaining hour and then walked back dropping down onto the canal in search of a picture. I came across two families of ducks and they all swam up once I started chucking bread at them. It's not easy to take pictures and chuck bread at the same time so I gave up after a while and took a few quick shots as they drifted away.

Go large....

Track? Let's have some gentle Peter Green today - Feeling Good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.