analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Kite Flying Lesson. GX1, Leitz Telyt 280mm

I had an unexpected day off from work today. Having some extra time on my hands I went to Larz Anderson Park. This lovely estate, so a visit with my friend Wiki tells me, was once the property of Boston Blue Bloods who bequeathed it to the Town of Brookline in 1948. Along with the mansion and grounds came the family's automobiles, which became the nucleus of the antique auto museum which resides in the former carriage house. There is a hill on the estate from which there is a fine view of the city. This spot is very popular for kite flying since there is always a breeze to be had. I parked myself in the shade of a beautiful old beech and waited to see what would happen around me. There were some sunbathers and also a little boy being taught how to fly a kite by what looks to be his granny. This was a challenging shot with the Telyt 280mm lens. It's about as big as I can hand hold steadily, set aperture and focus on the fly. On the GX1 it functions as a 560mm and drew the scene right in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.