In My World

By JoanneInOz

Tuesday on the Tweed.

There's a tiny riverside town called Tumbulgum, where once upon a time the only way of crossing the river was by ferry. The ferry has since been replaced by a bridge, just about a kilometre up the road, and with the new freeways going through, bypassing the small towns, Tumbulgum has changed its status. The one-time Pacific Highway town is now tucked away on the back roads, a sleepy little village, with views across the river to Mount Warning.

I stopped off at Tumbulgum today on my way home from delivering an order of school shirts to a school, and as it was around lunchtime, there was hardly a parking spot to be found. The Tumbulgum Tavern, one of the few businesses in the village, was doing roaring trade!

After looking through the photos I had taken, I chose this one for today, of a houseboat on the Tweed River with Mount Warning peering across from the background. I couldn't go past the blues ~ the sky, the mountains and the water looked brilliant on this cool winters day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.