Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Bindweed

An early Blip today as I don't know if I'll get a chance later on. This is a flower of Bindweed, a plant you don't want in your garden. It smothers everything, and can regrow from the tiniest bit of root left in the ground, so it's very difficult to get rid of. I had it in my front garden when I moved here and it took several years with weedkiller to totally remove it, and even now I sometimes spot a new shoot occasionally. When I was a kid, I used to spend my summer holidays on my Auntie's farm in Berwickshire. This used to grow along the hedgerows and we used to pick off the flowers and suck the sweet nectar out from the back. I'd not done that for years, so a couple of years ago I thought I'd try it again. Yuck - it was horrible, and I couldn't get rid of the taste for hours afterwards!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.