Now dig this

The workmen turned up this morning to start work on the driveway....hooray!!

This is something I've wanted to have done for ages (pretty much since I moved in almost 7 years ago). I can't wait to see it all finished, as I've never liked the way it looked at the front; kerb appeal is definitely lacking. So much so, I almost didn't bother viewing the inside of the house when I first went to view!

The guy doing it is a real character; maybe what you'd call 'old school'.
Our quote comprised of him walking it out round the front and counting up on his fingers; opposed to the other guy who had a metre stick and a calculator! I've probably made him sound dodgy but he did the driveway for #1 (he of obsessive grass cutting) and he wouldn't employ just anybody, so that was reference enough for me, with the added bonus of seeing his work as well.

Fixing a date proved difficult, he estimated a start date 'in about 5 weeks' (it's been just over that) rather than a specific date. I guess this allows for complications and means he doesn't really let anyone down; he starts when his last job has finished.

He also listened to what I wanted too; the other guy basically wanted to turn my drive into a mass of Tarmac, despite me saying I didnt want it to look like a public car park.
He's offered a few suggestions, which I've happily taken on board as he's the one doing driveways for a living.
So he's levelling the front as best as he can (it will still slope) with scalloped, gravel beds at either side (which we will add some plants to once he's done), edged with blue blocks and Tarmac in the centre for parking. He's also redoing the path from one side of the house to the other, and the paths up to the house with Indian stone, also edged in blue block.

Our driveway should take about 6-7 days to complete, so I will blip a before and after once it's all done.

:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.