Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Village View

Another lovely day with temperatures in the high 20 degree celcius.

I had an early morning visit to my parents as it's my dads 82nd birthday. I dropped of a bottle of Pussers Rum which I bought from Monmouth Naval Museum yesterday, as it's difficult to get hold off. My dad served in the Royal Navy and it was part of his 'rum rations' and, according to him, no other rum comes close as Pussers is what they doled out.

I was going to blip him in his workshop doing some wood turning but apparently he hasn't been in there since his hip operation last June, at Llandough Hospital, went wrong. A nerve was damaged and has left him with a 'drop foot' and he can't stand for long. He's having treatment, so lets hope he eventually recovers. It's a shame as he's been retired since he sold the shops at age 50, and took up sub aqua diving where he qualified as Instructor, and ran Penarth Sub Aqua Club. He regrets having the operation where at one time it didn't look as though he'd pull through. Glad to see him on his 82nd birthday!

After a visit to Cardiff City Centre to drop off my wife's earring for repair (she's lost one of the large sapphires) being told by the repairer 'this looks like a real sapphire'. Pleased to hear that as it wasn't cheap. No doubt the repair and replacement won't be either.

The blip photo is taken of the recreation ground alongside my house and overlooks Machen Mountain, a lot of the village, and the Quarry in the top right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.