As my mood grabs me...

By AlisonM

Swan

I was going into town this lunchtime but when I got to the bottom of the road I changed my mind and headed off up to the park instead. Well I had my new 40-150 lens on the little Olympus and thought I'd have a play.

I've got plenty of conventional pretty swan pics with the four cygnets but decided in the end I quite like this one :)

I timed my visit well - they'd just finished a major preening session on the side of the lake and gone back into the water as I arrived. I therefore came home with a good quantity of big white feathers :)

I also saw one of the Grebe but I didn't manage a pic - no sooner had I raised the camera and pointed it in the right direction than the blasted bird dived under - hey ho.....

Same thing happened with the Red Eared Terrapin I spotted - my camera was in my bag at the time and by the time I rooted it out it had disappeared under the surface not to be seen again. Nice to have seen it though even if it's not exactly a native!

Oh there were loads of Damselflies about so I'm very tempted to try some pics of them this week if the weather remains good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.