The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Jens & Christina

I hope Jens and Christina will forgive me for blipping this picture of them with Wifie and Gus on the way out to Park Point, but I couldn't not tell the story of our meeting this evening. It was overcast and we were so busy talking that I didn't take the camera out of the bag until we reached this point, by which time the light was quite low. This was the only vaguely presentable photo that has the three of them with Gus. Don't go large because it is a bit on the fuzzy side.

They are from Denmark, and they are spending a week's holiday staying in Arnside. We met them this evening for the first time and walked the mile or so to here and back, talking all the way.

Two weeks ago I had an email via the Landscape Trust in Arnside & Silverdale. It was from Jens, and he said that he and Christina were spending this week in Arnside and they would like to meet us and the famous Gus. He had been trying to track me down for a couple of weeks. They are not blippers, but at home they know EmmyHazyland, and follow her journal of the Hazyland Boys. Somehow, while looking at Blipfoto a couple of years ago, Jens had found my journal, and he has been keeping an eye on it since. They had never heard of Arnside before (who outside England has?), but liked seeing photographs of the village and its countryside, so that was what decided them to spend a week of their annual leave here.

They have been here since Sunday, so I was a little trepidatious that I might have been showing Arnside in its best light, and the reality might be a bit disappointing. But no, they do like it here, the weather has been kind, and they have found some of the features that I have blipped, including the beech tree on Arnside Knott with the massive rootplate. And the best thing was that they are a lovely and interesting couple, and so very easy to talk to. They will be here until Saturday, so in the morning will be able to catch up with the exhibition of my photographs of the AONB.

Isn't Blipfoto wonderful in so many ways? Tonight we made a connection in real life that was totally unexpected, entirely due to my presence here in blipland.

Apologies that I have been so poor at commenting, hopefully after this next weekend I should have some more time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.