Daveyesdave

By Daveyesdave

The White Rocket

They were getting rid of these at work and caught up as I was in car buying fever I put in what I thought was a reasonably uncompetitive bid for this vehicle, sight unseen.

Things being what they are I was successful with the bid and so naturally went and had a look. I was greeted by this white Corolla that looked like it had been shat on, over a period of years, by some giant with a liking for black curries and darker Guinness. A fool and his money I was thinking....

Tonight, is a rainy night so not a great night for working on cars, I took to it with some cutting compound to get to the real White Rocket. I got as far as this before/not quite after reveal. Thus, I was quite pleased with how things were turning out.

Also, I love the smell of cutting compound so it was an added bonus. It took me back to my days as the clean-up boy at Tauranga Spray Painting Ltd., a job I had after school, having secured it by virtue of a couple of older brothers doing it before me. I pretty much sucked at detailing and painting and parking cars but I got a great education there into the ways of the world, with all its depravity and humour. Seemed a lot of my job description involved having to listen to the older guys stories, most of which had the common theme of a wistful longing for their lost youth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.