Where's our mum?

On route to Bearsden this morning I stopped at the canal for a look for a possible blip. I watched a mother duck fly up on to the lock gate leaving her two wee ducklings in the water below ..... instead of flying down to join them, mum flew down into the lock itself where the water was very dirty and scummy. The ducklings were very distressed not being able to see mum. It was so upsetting to watch. They tried unsuccessfully to squeeze through the tiny gap in the gates. The babies sounded as if they were crying their wee hearts out and big softy that I am I nearly joined them. I walked a bit further up the tow path to watch a swan and her cygnet but I had to turn back to the duck family.
Thankfully there was no sign of the mother in the lock ..... she was back sitting on the lock gate ...... a flap of her wings and she was back with her wee ones and together they paddled away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.