Cazzlebrook

By Cazzlebrook

Leftover loveliness

I forgot to mention on my profile that I'm a bit of a foodie......or greedy, not sure which! I seriously love good food and to cook. It also got late before I realised I hadn't really taken any photographs to 'blip' today. So I'm afraid it's another one of my tea.
My working window seems to get shorter and shorter at the moment as Finn thinks it's WAY too light to go to bed, so.....by the time he finally went I needed to throw together something pretty quick.
A quick recce of the fridge revealed some leftover sausages and boiled potatoes, some streaky bacon (it has to be streaky) so they went into a pan to get nice and caramelised. When cooked they got flung onto a plate of salad leaves and basil, parmesan shavings, black olives, cubed red pepper and onion. I had some leftover garlicy dressing but felt it needed something more, something sweeter; to compliment the saltiness of the bacon, olives and parmesan.....so in went two generous tablespoons of 'Mrs Balls' South African chutney (which if you've never tried, is a must!) and a glug or two more of oil and vinegar.
10 minutes from pan to plate and about the same to demolish! Yum....bloody yum! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.