Life Savors

By osuzanna

Splendor in the Grass

I won’t say much about this 1961 movie. It was Warren Beatty’s film debut and also starred Natalie Wood. They played star crossed lovers and the movie tackled the themes of sexual repression and neurosis which were considered controversial content for the times. The film is often described as hyperbolic and I am sure that today we would find it quite dated.

The title comes from William Wordsworth's poem "Ode: Intimations of Immortality.

Though nothing can bring back the hour
Of splendour in the grass, of glory in the flower;
We will grieve not, rather find
Strength in what remains behind...


On a lighter note….regarding today’s blip. Almost every day I take a few photos of the flowers on the ornamental grass in our front garden. I think they are so lovely, but I am having such a hard time capturing their beauty. I gave it another go tonight and I suspect I will do it many times to come. I thought this wasn’t bad and shows the hint of purple in the flower. (Better in Large) I think my title for this blip may be a bit hyperbolic too. ;-)

Sorry to be a bit off-topic again tonight, but the Godfather eluded me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.