Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

On my own

This morning I left BabyCyclops in the care of his father and went to a lecture at Lauriston Castle which is a 20 min walk from my house.

The lecture was about the war poets during their time at Craiglockhart being treated for shell shock. I've always liked war poetry since studying it for GCSE English Lit, and I recently took a degree at Napier University Craiglockhart campus where Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon and other officers were treated, plus I do a lot of work in mental health. So lots of areas of interest for me. I really enjoyed it.

I was the youngest there by a mile, loads of very elderly people. But it was most pleasant. Tea and cakes were served after and you could sit in the courtyard. A tour of the castle was also provided as part of the ticket but I didn't go as I have been before.

I saw a squirrel and some ducklings in the grounds, which was nice for me too.

I'll probably bring BabyCyclops for a walk in the grounds sometime soon if the weather stays nice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.