Getting kitted out

I was over in Glasgow this morning picking up my volunteer uniform for the Commonwealth Games. I was supposed to be meeting my friend Sarah for a train date, but we were scheduled for different times and ended up missing each other.

The process was by far the most efficient volunteer experience so far.

I am now accredited and kitted out and ready to go (after one final training session in a couple of weeks.) My uniform is not all one size and gender though - it appears that I have an odd shaped body in terms of uniforms. It was great that they had wee changing rooms and a personal shopper-esque volunteer on hand to help me get it right. "How do my thighs look in these ones?" Poor guy!

The second part of the day was visiting Universal Comedy, they're one of our member organisations. They deliver comedy workshops and training courses for people experiencing the downside of ill health, depression and anxiety or employment problems. I saw a comedy showcase of their recent graduates and had a lovely chat with the founder of the charity and her staff. I'm writing a wee article about them for my work newsletter. One of the good parts of my job!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.