Poignant poppies

What do you get from facebook ? Maybe funny videos you could easily live without, jokes you've heard umpteen times before, or more likely updates from family and friends ( whose lives are always much more interesting than your own ! )
There are also those posts from various organisations that you " liked " so long ago that you don't remember even doing it.
Today, one of those organisations drew my attention to this. Briefly, to mark the centenary of the Great War, the moat at the Tower of London will be filled with thousands of ceramic poppies. Buying a poppy makes a donation to several forces charities.
I didn't know most of my ancestors who served in the war, but they were all lucky enough to survive it. My grandfather was one of them, but he never talked about it. I wish now that I'd asked him his story, before it was too late.
I love the beauty and significance of poppies anyway, so I'll be buying one and look forward to seeing the moat when it's full. Today's photo is my musical box, bought in support of the British Legion. It plays Jerusalem,which is a lovely tune, but the rendition is a little tinny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.