DancingAly

By DancingAly

Breaking Free

Partying hard on a Monday night!

We had a training day at school for half the day. It was a warm and really beautiful day, so I planned to make the most of it. After the lecture I went home and got ready, after a quick pit-stop to see Little B of course!

I drove to Woking, parked my car and lucked out getting my usual space even though it's a work day. I put myself on the train to Waterloo, and when I got there I treated myself to a hot chocolate and a sammie from Pret.

I hopped in a taxi and headed to my new favourite haunt. I do love London. Unfortunately the taxi driver dropped me way away from where I needed to be, in Holborn. I tried to navigate it myself, then asked some guys for directions. It was supposed to be a 10 minute walk to Shaftesbury Avenue- typical guy thing to say as it was more like 20, especially as I was laden with my heavy work laptop! I think actually it was really good for me to have to find my way there, and I enjoyed my little adventure.

When I arrived at the pub it was quite quiet, so I parked my stuff and got myself a drink. I sat down with the intention of doing some work, but got chatting to some dutch ladies. We ended up talking about teaching etc, as one was trying to get into it over here. It was great chatting, and suffice to say not a lot of work got done!

My friend arrived about an hour later, with an ex-colleague of his. It was a good game, and really busy, although not as bad as the last time. Holland won, so spirits were high! Somebody did the flag stripes on my cheeks :-) My friend ended up doing a 5 hour DJ session, and is was really good fun. By 11pm I was really flagging, as I knew it was a work day the next day.

Still, it was good fun, and I managed to dig deep and find some energy! We finished at 12, and then had a nice long walk back to Waterloo. On the way we passed a young girl trying to unlock one of those bikes you can rent. At twenty to one in the morning, as you do..... She couldn't get it to unlock, so my friend stepped into help. It was quite complicated, but between the three of us, we managed to get her going. She was so chuffed that she had a bike, that she thanked us profusely!

Girl: "He's amazing! Is he your boyfriend?"
Me: "uuuh.....no..."
Girl: " He really should be!"

I think so! :-) This became a source of some amusement for the remainder of our walk! Girl was a little bit intoxicated, so it was with trepidation that we watched her wobble as she cycled off into the distance....

Back on the train- aah, the 01:05, how I've missed you! I was so tired, and didn't know how I would find the energy to drive home when we got back to my friend's apartment. Even though it was a work day, he kindly offered to let me stay, which immediately made me feel relaxed, knowing I could sleep sooner!

Bed by about 3am. Well, it was about that time when I wiped the Netherlands flag stripes from my cheeks....

It's a work day in about 4 hours time! Aaah!

I'm so glad I decided to go today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.