Rae

By MissRae

Tourette Towers

Condrieu - Saissons

122 miles

Drove along the Rhone today following the River by A roads rather than motorway, and to be perfectly honest we were a bit disappointed - when you're at home quaffing a bottle of delicious Cote du Rhone with a cheese board or Sunday lunch, I picture a slowly meandering picturesque river lined with vineyards and pretty villages....in reality it is broad and flat and largely industrial on it's banks....not entirely without charm, but not what we expected.

This wonderful site though was definitely worth the factories. I'm not sure that I've quite captured the scale; it literally stopped us in our tracks just on the outskirts of Tourette.

We also travelled through Montelimar today; I never knew it was an actual place. To me it will always be the Quality Street (or was it Roses?) that was left at the bottom of the box....I was very pleased to learn that it really is where nougat is made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.