Flame flower

Today's the day .............................. for a surprise appearance

I've tried to grow this wonderfully vibrant red flower (Tropaeolum speciosum) many times over the years without a great deal of success.

It's not just me that has had trouble with it. In some places it thrives and in others it fails completely. It does particularly well in Scotland and has been called the Scottish flame flower and the glory of the Highlands. It used to grow profusely in my parents' garden in Edinburgh and my Dad gave me endless cuttings of it to try in my garden.

Imagine my surprise today then, when I came upon a single string of flowers - growing as bold as you like - in a place in the garden that I know I never planted it? How it got there - and how it has just suddenly appeared after all these years - will remain a complete mystery ............................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.