Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Marmalade.

To make Orange Marmallett.

Take half a pound of Orange mate and half a pound of Orange rynde, boyle and beat very small; a pint of Apple jelly, two pounds and a half of double refined suger, and a little boiled orange rynd cut thin and small, and boyle it very fast till cleare and jelly, yn put in the juice of lemons strained and boyled, and put them in yor potts.


This is the oldest marmalade recipe I have. By all counts this receipt dates to the early C18 and so predates the founding of Keiller marmalade factory in Dundee in 1797. The jar in the image probably dates to the late C19.

All very interesting I'm sure but why blip it? Well, I came across the jar while I was clearing out... I came across James Keiller's tombstone while I was in the Howff the other day... it's time to start thinking about making marmalade while the Seville oranges are still available (with a much more up to date recipe)... and because I wanted to play with layers, textures and blending modes...





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.