CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Jaine Rose, who started 'Wool against Weapons'

When I bumped into a friend, Philip Booth, in the local supermarket on Saturday little did I know that I was soon to meet Jaine, the initiator of 'Wool against Weapons'. Philip makes local videos for Stroud Community TV, which is a website he created to promote the diversity of Stroud.

Within minutes he'd told me excitedly about an important new project started by someone in Stroud called 'Wool against weapons', which culminates on 9th August in family-friendly day of mass opposition to the Trident missile replacement. People all over the world are knitting a seven mile long peace scarf which will be unrolled on Nagasaki Day between Britain's nuclear bomb factories at Aldermaston and Burghfield, 50 miles west of London.

2016 is the political deadline for preventing Trident's replacement at a cost of up to £100 billion. Jaine realised she had to do something and this project is the result.
Look at the Wool against Weapons website here to see pictures of people all over the world who have been moved to join in, knitting countless sections of pink wool and sending them in to be joined up on the 9th August. Hopefully there will be masses of people there celebrating in their own style.

I gather that a test section of the scarf, which are all being prepared in 40 metre long rolls, will be unfurled this Saturday on Edinburgh's Royal Mile. I hope some local Scottish blippers will record it.

When I looked at the website I realised that Jaine lived about 200 hundred yards from our house, so I contacted her, told her about Blip and asked if I could take a picture of her. So today I popped round to her house where she gave me tea and told me all about it. I said that I have offered to come to the event and to help film it with Philip in order to make a video. Hopefully there will be other volunteers as there will be such a lot of potential material, because it will be a brilliant day and it is very important. I heard so many interesting stories today about countless people who have contacted Jaine and are knitting away like mad to do their 'bit', and it is very moving.

I also met her partner Mark, who was sewing together sections of the scarf that had been sent to them. On the floor was the latest bundle of knitted pink wool joined up into a 40 metre long section. On the chair by the window was a pile of big jiffy bags which the postman had delivered today of more contributions. Other people are sending there bits to CND, and other places, which will all be brought by them to Berkshire on the day.

I had a great time and a laugh with Jaine and Mark and I'm sure we will see more of them. As Jaine said, she is a Stroudie and does things differently. She is also an artist and she is looking forward to the time when she can get back to work but it won't be till after August. What a star she is, as are all those who are helping and are committed to standing up in a non-violent way to the madness of spending so much money on things that should never ever be used.

If you think you can help why not start knitting for peace now and send it to
'Wool against Weapons'. I have added a few more pictures to this Flickr gallery, including some of Jaine carrying a 40 metre bundle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.