Valerie1940

By Valerie1940

Time is money!

In 2000 when I was visiting Australia as a retirement holiday, I bought a coin watch which had an Australian halfpenny of the year of my birth, 1940, as its dial. In 2007 to commemorate my graduation from the OU with a BA(Hons) I bought coin watches for myself, my sister and brother-in-law. Theirs had sixpences of their birth dates, 1947 and 1952, but mine had a generic commemorative coin dated 2007. It was my sharp-eyed sister who noticed the mistake on the watches - have you spotted it? Look at the watch on the left - it only has four numbers - 1, 5, 7, and 11. But 7 in Roman numerals is VII - not VI . I wrote to Coin Watch and pointed out the error - they didn't know and were grateful. They sent me the pendant watch with the 1940 sixpence as a thank you and offered to have the watches back to correct them. We decided however to keep them as an even more unusual memento of the occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.