England expects....

Heard this week that with the very low interest rates for savers, the value of collectibles was increasing at enormous rates as people moved in to these type of investments - vintage cars, signed photos etc.

So when a week ago Mr&MrsB presented me with the CocaCola glass, I thought I might be on a winning streak. They had of course wanted to find a bottle of champagne with matching glasses emblazened with the "England - World Cup Winners 2014" logo but it seems the manufacturers were holding back.

Now I'm not too sure if I will need to dispose of the glass at the special unit for toxic waste. Perhaps tonight when Germany plays and Angie has confiscated the remote control so as to stop me watching re-runs of Top Gear (two episodes being shown every night during the World Cup), I will fill it up with Whisky or perhaps even Whiskey, and add a drop of Coke.

Nice thought Mr&MrsB. Unless the then ruling UKIP government can come up with a large pot of bribery money, I fear the 2022 Qatar World Cup version will still only have the 1966 Wembley win on it. Can't believe it's true but heard today that the last time England came back from trailing 0-1, to win a World Cup game was in the 1966 Final against Germany! Despite the still controversial result, the German press seemed sad to see Englands departure.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.