Pretty Muddy

Had a very busy but so enjoyable day today.

Started with my swim in the lake. We usually swim around 2 miles on a Saturday morning. I love this session as we get coached. I'm not good at motivating myself, I prefer being told what to do.

Came home and had shower no.1.

Got ready and went off to do Race For Life's Pretty Muddy event. It was obstacles over a 5k course....and yes some of it was muddy.

I ran with my friend Rita and her daughter. My friend or her daughter hadn't done anything like this before. They loved it and now want to do more.

We climbed over, scrambled under, stepped through tyres, went through tunnels, climbed up and over walls, stepped in and out of dirty muddy water, got covered in paint, crawled through muddy water while someone splashed it all over us and the last one was up a ladder, down a slide and end up in mud! I thoroughly enjoyed it and so did they.

My friend is now ready to begin to live her life again after so much tragedy. What she has had to go though would destroy most of us. She lost two sons in very tragic accidents eight months apart. One was 18 the other 19...and both really lovely boys. One slipped on ice outside his back door, he knocked himself out, it was bitterly cold and he only had a t.shirt on. He unfortunately died of hyperthermia and she found him when she let her dog out in the morning. The other climbed on top of hay bails with his friend and their girlfriends. They were sitting chatting and he slipped. Had he fell straight down he would have broken his legs...unfortunately he tried to save himself, tipped and landed on his head....he had to have his life support turned off two weeks later.

She said she has been reading on Facebook about all the things I've been doing and without knowing it I've inspired her to get up and get out and do....this was the first of many I hope.

My husband was photographer for us. He ran the whole course ahead of us so he could take photos of everything we did....I have a great set of photos...thank you x x

Came home for shower no.2.

Out we then went into town. Had problems in Santander so I now want to close all my accounts and move them elsewhere. Then we headed for Baroosh for a drink. It was lovely sitting outside drinking my well earned g&t....then we went to Pizza Express...haven't been in there for years. It was very nice.

Home, feet up, watching the World Cup...come on Brazil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.