HareBrain 2014

I'm in the Ladies loo at the KerryVale Vineyard! The Vineyard was planted in 2010, covers six acres of farmland and resides at the eastern tip of the Kerry Vale -an area of exceptional beauty and just 3 miles south of the charming town of Montgomery, Powys where I met my very dear friend M. We had arranged to meet in Montgomery for her to take me on a mystery tour to give me my suprise belated Birthday pressy .. I've now adopted a vine (of the grape variety, she knows me so well!!). I received my Certificate to confirm me as an adoptive parent of a vine of my choice - I have chosen 'Rondo' - a beautiful black grape which yields an abundance of large dark skinned grape clusters and produces a ruby red wine - I also get to choose a name to go on the sign next to my vine which will be fairly obvious to you... "HareBrain" of course. I get to join in the harvesting of the vines too and hope to eventually see bottles of the finest 'Rondo' red wine with labels reading "HareBrain" 2014!!

Not only is my birthday pressy wonderfully original but symbolic of my love of Hares too as there are symbols of Hares all around the vineyard (and on wallpaper in the ladies loo!); not only because the owners like them but they feel an affinity with them as there is a resident pair of Hares who come out to play amongst the vines on most mornings and when the shop was built the Archaeologist who oversaw the foundations being dug came across a small piece of Samian Ware bearing a symbol of a Hare.

Thank you very much M for my lovely gift and ....
Welcome to Blip Redkite - your first posting today and I hope you will enjoy the wonderful Blip community as much as I do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.