Sweet Talk

Nearly every day, starting on January 2, I've been asked, "How many days to Valentine's Day?" or "Is tomorrow Valentine's Day?" One morning last week, however, my daughter made the following declaration:

"Christmas is about giving, and Valentine's Day is about loving."

"Well, yes, you're absolutely right," I replied. I was touched to hear this from a four-year-old.

"But most of all is Easter."

We're not religious, and I haven't yet explained the significance of Easter to her, so I was curious as to why it was so important to her.

"Why? Because of the candy?" I asked cynically.

"No. Because of the ChapStick* the Easter bunny brings."



*ChapStick (and lip balm in general), while truly necessary here in the winter, is a forbidden (thus now much desired) substance due to the copious amounts I've found smeared on the walls in the past. I can see how it is indeed the "most of all."

_______________


Some Sweetheart trivia:

- The candies date back to the early 1900s.
- Necco produces the hearts nearly year-round for the six-week selling period before Valentine's Day.
- 100,000 pounds of candy are made each day.
-If you placed the annual production of Sweethearts back to back across the US, they would stretch from New York to Los Angeles and back again.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.