Copper clad

After a lot of toing and froing in pouring rain trying to find the office of the company from whom I’d organised an internet car rental, I had a phone call from Sebastian, the company’s mobile office. He was sheltering at the station entrance wondering why I hadn’t just got off a train.

Hmph.

Drove to the nearest town for breakfast and found a massive steel works as well as quite a bit of abandoned industry. Not what I'd expected for our free time in Burgundy but I was quite happy.

Then the birthday party of a French friend I've known for over half our lives: a meal in a barn that started at 10.30pm and ended at 2.20am, lots of singing, entertaining speeches, and catching up with people I met at his party a decade ago, and a decade before that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.