Another Day

By BlackTulip

Male Greater Spotted Woodpecker

My Focus Cabriolet had six gears but I changed it for a Fiesta in March. The Fiesta has five gears with reverse gear being in the same place as my old sixth gear. If I'm on auto pilot, which is quite often, there can be quite a bit of reshaping of the gearbox before brain re-engages.

I like maps, no, I love maps. When I was in Waterstones late last week I bought ordnance survey map No. 106 in preparation for our Cornish walking holiday in September and when I got home I realised, not for the first time, that I already had it.

The other problem is that we need three maps not one, as there is a teeny weeny bit of coast path on the Bodmin Moor map. Why do you need maps to walk a coastal path I hear you say? It's either on your left or your right. Correct, but we need somewhere to park two cars, one at the beginning of the walk and one at the end. I'm not sure there is a handy bus on this walk.

Waterstones No. 1 in MK didn't have either of the additional maps we need but they checked with shop No. 2 and they did. So I duly trotted round the corner to their other shop where I found both additional maps on a shelf I couldn't reach. Having solved that with a helpless look at passing gentlemen I found this shop's maps were 3 for 2. Not the other shop, just this one. Hence I now have another three maps minus the one returned.

Today's blip is of a male Greater Spotted Woodpecker at the bird bath and taken through the dirty kitchen window. Hope you like it.

NO TENNIS. NO GRAND PRIX.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.