Moving On

There are an unknown number of wild tortoises living on campus, including this fella and his lady friend, (who incidentally was in the yard a couple of days ago, eating the red berries I blipped last week). These two hefty creatures, both the size of dinner plates, live directly behind my flat in the wild scrub that grows there. It was the sound of him butting the female with his shell against hers - a hugely loud reverberating hollow knocking - in what I can only assume is some courtship ritual if you are a tortoise, ("hey, girl, I know you're in there") that attracted my attention, if not hers. I confess I moved him away from her after a while because it was clear that his advances were not welcome (that she had totally retreated inside her shell was a bit of a clue!!). By now both cats had settled beside him, fascinated by this bizarre creature as said bizarre creature stared at me, clearly stating what he thought of my ruining his hot date chances.

I am sure there must be many jolly funny jokes about tortoises and mobile homes when I am in the middle of moving and flying home home to England tomorrow .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.