amro

By amro

Who will remember him?

I went to a funeral today. Don't worry - this blip isn't from the actual funeral service.

It was a dismal drizzly day, what the Scots would call a dreich day. The officiant was inaudible and uninspired, and the building was in the style of a 1960s factory.

As I returned to my car, I noticed that the rose bushes had tags attached to them in remembrance of someone whose ashes had been scattered nearby. I was rather affected by this particular one, obviously someone long forgotten. He'd probably been through two world wars, the invention of flight, the jet age, the invention of telephone, antibiotics, the NHS, such huge changes. I wondered if he left behind a grieving wife, children, grandchildren...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.