royzen

By royzen

the joke’s on you.

My friend was a pusher
And one day he pushed too hard
Living seemed too easy
And life got to be too hard
Found him in the bathtub
And his face was the brightest blue
Looked like he was smiling
Saying the joke’s on you.

What do you think my friends all said?
When they found him dead and gone
Will they ever understand?
Will they think that I was wrong?
You see I’m as high as the stars in the sky
Life’s just a trip to get here.

My friend was a preacher
And he only preached about the things he knew
He told of wild flowers
And he spoke of visions he’d just been through
His book was worn and tattered
It’s dirty pages had no words
He knew it all by memory
And spoke it straight from his heart

You could sprinkle earth and water
But my body don’t give a damn
You could say your prayers
But remember just to live life while you can
There ain’t nothing to be afraid of
Dying ought to set you free

My friend was a dreamer
And he sold his dreams for half the price
He always was too honest
And he did what he thought was right
He took money for his potions
But he made sure you had a good time
He only made the best of
And he tried not to blow your mind

He treats me as my closet friend
And he’ll dance for me in the wind
Sing this song about your life
And he’ll teach me how to harmonise
And he’d say boy won’t you join us
And we’ll sing all that will ever be


Formerly Fat Harry 1969

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.