The White Rose Classic

Worth going large

The ride alluded to yesterday was the White Rose Classic which is now run by the local club and starts in the town. I did the long route of 114 miles which involves about 10,000ft of climbing and descending, like cycling to the top of Scafell Pike three times! This shot is of the section between Hawes and Garsdale Head - and is one of the flatter bits! Mostly the route uses quieter and smaller roads than this, but this is one of the few places where you can see the route unfolding ahead.

Last year there was an oil spillage on the descent from Fleet Moss and we were diverted via Kidstones, adding 6 miles to the distance, so I can't make direct comparisons. Two years ago, on the identical route I got around in 8.04.17. Today I finished with a time of 8.05.57. That's exactly 100 seconds slower - equating to less than a second a mile. I'll take that! Considering the pressures at work and the lack of any serious long rides, I'm quite chuffed with my legs today. I really surprised myself.

I didn't intend to try to get around as quickly as possible. I woke up this morning feeling really tired and for a brief moment questioned whether I should ride at all. I started with the aim of going steadily and let some mates who were starting just behind catch me up, at which point I'd try to stay with them as long as I could. I was worried that as they were doing the shorter medium route they might pull me along a bit quick. As it turned out I joined up with another mate, Tim (who has just won the English Triathlon Championship in his age group) so I did find myself being pulled along a bit quick!

Overtaking loads of riders, and being overtaken by very few, I was a bit concerned about 'blowing up' later but some words came into my head, by Richard Back from Illusions:

Argue for your limitations, and sure enough, they're yours.

So I let go of any notion that I might not be as fit as I was last year, or the year before and just gave it my all. The climb out of Settle and the final nasty sting in the tail up Langbar were brutal and involved a lot of pain, but apart from those moments I enjoyed almost every mile of the ride - and felt pretty good, even in the closing miles. A truly grand day out. Although there was a little bit of drizzle right at the very start the day the weather was basically great for cycling, quite cool but that was fine. And the views were magnificent. Finger crossed for something as good next week - just hopefully a little warmer.

Off now to soak in a hot bath - possibly for quite a long time.

NB For my own record ...

White Rose Classic 2013

White Rose Classic 2012

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.