Snow Down Under

By snowy

REMEMBERING:

Today, 6 years ago I lost my wonderful man. I had the privilege of knowing him for 57 years & we had been married for 52. He was a farmer. Sheep & cattle. We went to live in the Lindis Pass on a farm I inherited from my Father, who had purchased the property in 1915.

Max requested when he died, that he be cremated, & for his ashes to be scattered on a high hill on the farm in the Lindis. His wishes were carried out exactly as he instructed. From that same area, my farmer son, Richard, (on whose birthday his Father died) found this large stone & had a bronze plaque made.

It was not difficult to decide where to place it in the garden. When we retired here 27 years ago this was a paddock with a cottage. We built a new home & set about planning the garden; I did the buying & Max did the planting. He dug all the holes. He use to joke with his friends, he retired from farming to become an undertaker.

I decided to place the stone at the foot of a copper beech tree which he had dug the hole for. It mirrored his stirling qualities, tall, upright, & the dark leaves matched his olive complexion. He was charming, with inflexible honesty, & impeccable manners. He was one of life's gentlemen.

This is not a day of sadness, but one of remembrance & of gratitude. Thank you Max.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.